Dromore GFC News
Year Filter:
St. Michaels v Carrickmore
Sat, 08 Nov 2014
St. Michaels 0-13 v Carrickmore 0-07

A triumphant St. Michaels of Dunfanaghy progressed to the semi-final of the Paul McGirr Ulster U16 Club Champions Tournament when a dominant second half performance seen them overcome the challenge of a leg weary Carrickmore who were playing for the sixth week in a row. Things looked good for the Tyrone men in the first half with James McGurk dominant at the back and Conor Loughran looking dangerous in midfield but they were unable to sustain their performance as St. Michaels and man of the match Ciaran McGinley in particularly took a grip on proceedings. Two superb long range scores from Loughran and a Ciaran Daly free following a foul on Loughran put Carrickmore three ahead early on and but for some wayward passing and shooting they would have been much further ahead. It took St. Michaels twenty minutes to record their first score which was a left footed point from full forward Odhran McFadden, the first of six scores from him. Two points from McGinley, one from the outside of the boot and one from Daly left Carrickmore 0-4 to 0-3 ahead at half time.

But this was as good as it got for them as St Michaels emerged for the second half in much more determined mood and immediately stamped their authority on proceedings with two McFadden frees and one from play from Shane Lagan. Carrickmore levelled matters with another Daly score and one from Ciaran Cuddy before six unanswered points from St. Michaels ended the game as a contest, two from McGinley, three from McFadden and one from raiding wing back Ruairi Friel. Cuddy finally recorded a Carrickmore reply but Lee McColgan ended the game in style with a brilliant effort from fifty yards as St. Michaels became the first Donegal side in a number of years to reach the semi-final.

St. Michaels: Dean Mc Colgan, Aidan Mc Fadden, Jamie Hunter (Capt), Tony Toye, Hugh O’Donnell,Caolan Toye, Ruairi Friel (0-1), Ciaran McGinley (0-4 2f), Colin Mc Fadden, Charles Roarty, Shane Langan (0-1), Eoghan Kelly, Lee Mc Colgan (0-1), Odhran McFadden (0-6 4f), Liam Kelly

Carrickmore: Enda Hughes, Aidan McCallan, Lochrann O’Donnell, Pauric Mullan, Jude Glackin, James McGurk, Oran McKee, Dearcan O’Donnell, Conor Loughran (0-2), Dara Casey, Ciaran Daly (Capt) (0-3 1f), Tiernan Murray, Paddy McElduff, Jarlath Kerr, Ciaran Cuddy (0-2)
Subs: Conor Kelly for McCallan, Cormac Munroe for Casey